Best Intraday timeframe

Iqbal

I am new to forex and would like some guidance from the more experienced traders.

I would like to ask what they think the best timeframe is to trade intraday. I am currently looking at 5min and 10min charts, but am unsure which to use. What do you guys trade on and why?

Thankyou in advance.

Hi lgbal

I would say 5 and 10 min are ok. I don't think many will respond to you on this.Because There so much more to it, than just picking a time frame some use 1 and 3 min chart to get in but look at a longer time frame of 30 min charts for the trend of the market.

If you are new to trading a good way to start with real money is have a live game against real traders. at www.tradergames.com. you can enter a game for just 20 quid with a winning pot of 76 quid.you would play against 4 traders. with a live trading platform of 50mill but you cant lose no more than 250.000k.,but remember you are not risking no more than 20 pound for a 2 hour game. great for learning. and once you get better you can play for the 750 pound games

good luck

sun

Iqbal, doesn't matter which intraday timeframe you choose, that will largely be a function of your trading style and your attention span/time availability for trading any given day.

What I will say is whatever timeframe you choose to trade on any given day, use longer timeframes for confirmation of your trade (if directional) and shorter ones for timing your entry/exit.

Agree with Bramble. You should always have a longer time frame chart open for direction and never take a trade against that direction, (until at least you think you know what you are doing). Another thing is don't keep changing time frames. Pick one and stick with it. Going from 1 min to 5 to tick to 10 to 15 and back again will just confuse and frustrate. Take the time to get to know the chart and the instrument you are tracking. So you will have 2 charts showing.