Anyone else spread betting UK shares? Join me here.

barneydunn

Hello, I'm spread betting UK shares using an mt4 broker, just because I'm so used to it, and I'd be interested in chatting with other people who are trying to do the same. I have attached my account as of the end of play today, Friday 7/5/21. If anyone wants to post their account here too and/or discuss trades, the reason for taking them and what's on the horizon for future trades then I'd be happy to hear from you.

I will post a bit about my approach, history, etc over the weekend.

Attachments

• ADSS 7 5 21.PNG
    ADSS 7 5 21.PNG
    88.8 KB · Views: 164
Just to give you an idea, I lost a bit on this account trading DAX and forex but I am doing a lot better since I switched to shares. My deposit at the moment is £7600 (since I started trading shares about 2 months ago). The balance was higher but I've taken some losses over the last few days. Fortunately I've got some good trades open at the moment, some at break even or better.

Hi, if you are spread betting why does it show commission?

Hi, if you are spread betting why does it show commission?
I'm trading with what is primarily a forex broker. They charge commission on each trade but the spreads are the tightest I can find anywhere. It is definitely a spread betting account though so I will not pay tax on the gains.

I'm trading with what is primarily a forex broker. They charge commission on each trade but the spreads are the tightest I can find anywhere. It is definitely a spread betting account though so I will not pay tax on the gains.
Oh ok, if its the most cost effective for you, all good

Oh ok, if its the most cost effective for you, all good
Well you're going to pay in one way or another anyway so I'd rather have tighter spreads and pay a small commission. If you look at how much you are paying in relation to the position size it's tiny anyway. I tried Spreadex and a few others and the spreads are horrible.