any futures for prop traders??

amit_amik99

Hi huys recently i called up a known recruitment firm NER asking them if they would be interested in my cv. My background , i am a spot fx trader trading for a prop firm in london. I was shocked that the guy said "in my experience of 5 years i have never placed a prop trader from arcade no one wants them" this has sent me alarm bells ringing about how the banks , funds and other investment houses percieve prop traders.

are there any prop traders out there who had success to switch from arcade to a better firm?:clap:

yeah i checked asweell i am surprised . it says commison only package aswell so thats kinda scalper or prop trader job. strange .... but still i would like some genuine opinion from other experienced lots

AA,

I find it unusual a prop trader will want to go and work at an IB the obvious sacrifice would be the profit share deal.. are you bored trading prop?

I don't find it unusual at all. How is staring at DOM or tick chart all day going to help you do anything useful at a bank?

Why would you invest in training some guy able to make a good income by himself (liable to leave) when you can pickup a genius grad with a big background in sports?

and if he isn't making good income then he's a dud and its just another reason not to take him.

maybe chances are better at HF which will employ your strategies given scalability.

AA,

I find it unusual a prop trader will want to go and work at an IB the obvious sacrifice would be the profit share deal.. are you bored trading prop?

think about the implications of a blow up.

at a bank you can (used to be able) to swing the bat a bit. if it goes well happy days you get 10-15%. If it goes wrong bank takes the loss and you may/may not get canned.

blow up in a prop shop with your own money and it's goodnight vienna.