Amazon AWS WorkSpace

ironjaw

While reading another thread here today, about a member complaining about IG and losing their position due to being locked out / computer issues, I thought I might share what I am doing. I am of course, new here so am still on the road to learning, and no expert but I am studying every day.

The repeated and common scenario: Spread betting / CFDs risk
It seems again people i.e. new traders are burned by leverage and CFDs. I refuse to deal in spread betting. Having a £1000 entry with a 1:10 leverage means opening a position of £10.000 - can go either way. Lose or win. It's scary. Please learn to risk manage and know what you are doing. Always place stops! Know how much you will lose if all goes bad. That way you're secured, say if your computer dies.

Solution 1: Avoid Spread betting / CFD, or
Solution 2: Separate your trading platform

Separate all your charts, signals, etc from your "everyday computer" that you use for browsing, email and chats, und so weiter. This not only reduces computer virus by browsing to wrong sections of the internet and webpages, but keeps you safe knowing that all that matters about money is segregated from the your personal setup.

A good way that I've found recently is Amazon Web Services (AWS) Workspaces. I've signed up and it's a free account to open and the workspaces are currently on offer for 12 months free due to COVID19, and after that charged at either hourly or monthly. You can try it for the year and see if it works in your trading setup or not. Here are the links:

Amazon Web Services (AWS) Workspaces

Workspace Pricing

TIP: Check the cost calculator for region pricing, some regions are cheaper, other expensive. I'm in the UK and have chose Oregan (West) as I save more compared to Europe (London). A faster Internet connection (broadband) is beneficial.