Am I missing something ! (IGIndex)

PhilHughes

Hope one of you may be able to help me out a little.

I'm new to spread betting, and currently trying my luck using IG index (i know wide spreads, will soon change over to Capital Spreads/ cityIndex).

At the moment I've placed a £5 a point buy on BAA (FTSE 100) June

I've watched the prices creep forward on all the quaterly bets except the Jun - which is the one I have - Can anyone explain ?
At the moment it is as follows.

Sell Buy
26/04/04 - 533 - 534
June - 524.5- 525 (why this one remains the same?)
Sept - 531 - 532
Dec - 532 - 533

Is this possibly stocks becoming ex-dividend, fell free to tell me I'm talking rubbish

All help appreciated.
Phil

In stock futures, (and SB based on them) the longer dated contracts will always have a higher price due to "cost of carry".

As the term to expiry gets nearer, the difference between the futures price will get nearer to the underlying.

I suspect what you are observing is not the longer dated price actually moving up whilst the near contract stays the same, just the effect of the longer dates contracts having a higher price. You should find they move in tandem. ie if sept goes up 5 points, then june should also go up 5 points (generally speaking that is).

If this is not the case, and they are moving independantly of each other, let us know, I'm sure there will be an explaination (but I don't know what specific factors would cause it).

Independant Mover

Thanks for the reply darren,

have a look at the picture attached - see the JUN price is lower than the other future prices and todays ?? any more ideas ?

Does anyone else know why his JUNE price isn't moving as the others and why quoted lower.

When the bet was placed they all correlated (each incremental quaterly bet was roughly 1-2 point more, they all started to move up - except JUN.

all help appreciated

Attachments

• no correlation jun price.jpg
    no correlation jun price.jpg
    82.4 KB · Views: 773