Advice Please

Darth_Trader

Hi All,

Firstly, im a newbie on this forum so please go easy on me!!!

Im looking for some much needed advice please if anyone could be so kind to do so.

A little about who and what I am about, im a 26 year old man, currently working in engineering which I have done since I left school, in the process of my career I have gained a BSc Mechanical Engineering Degree and would currently be classed at supervisor level within my current company.

My interest in trading began nearly 2 years ago now when I was introduced by a friend to a virtual trading simulator where by you get given a virtual amount of money to invest on equities at 15 minute delayed prices.

I became excited by the proposition of trading and wanted to expand my knowledge of how things work so I purchased various books and began reading content online.

Approx 9 months ago I decided to open a nominee account and begin investing any spare money I have, whilst I haven't suddenly become a millionaire!!!, I haven't lost my money in which I have invested.

So to where I am now, I read the FT daily and watch Bloomberg and CNBC in my spare time, I have become sucked in by the excitement of trading so much so that it is now a big part of my life and started making me question my current career path.

I have started researching potential positions within the industry and noticed many mention the FSA regulation exams.

Which brings me to here looking for advice, ive done some research and found I can study some units towards required certification through organisations such as 7City and BPP.

Do you think for someone seriously wanting to change career and enter trading without any financial or sales experience that by taking some exams would improve my chances of entering the industry??

If so which particular units would be seen as industry minimums??