Advice needed: New Trader

Epps

Hi all,

I’ve just recently started trading about a month or so ago. Naturally I’m a little apprehensive regarding my ability to make sufficient money and a living from trading full time and just require a bit of advice and reassurance.

I am currently trading for a trading firm that specializes in trading Euribor, Eurodollar and Short Sterling markets. The agreement with the company is that I am entitled to profit share of 25%, which will be revised upwards once I have reached a certain amount in my trading account. I am trading with the company’s money; none of it is my own. On top of this take into account desk fees of about ₤700 per month and round trip costs of ₤1.16 (with monthly rebates depending on the amount of round trips I do in a month). Over the past month I have had mostly profit-making days trading Euribor but have found that a lot of the profits I make get negated by round trip costs. Also, bear in mind that I have an Honours degree in actuarial science, but am not a qualified actuary. So I always have that to my name if trading does not work out the way I would want it to.

I love what I’m doing but do have a few doubts. What I’m looking for is a bit of advice from someone a bit more experienced than myself (which should be pretty much all of you!). What are my future prospects if I continue trading? Is there a career to be made from trading? What kind of money should I expect to be making per month? Will I be able to make a comfortable living and provide for children, buying a house, etc?

Any help, advice or opinions you could offer me is much appreciated.

Thanks.

Give yourself around 2 years to become consistently profitable, and that is by no means guaranteed.

So, have around 2 years of living costs stashed away, and have an exit plan (another career) if you can't break into the minority of successful traders after around 2 years.