Trades going against you: what do you do?

Bollo57

Okay, some thoughts on this.
I can't believe I did what i did!
I'm a reasonably experienced trader, like many on here. Doing okay, good days bad days etc.

So, the situationwas this: my method is strict time entry and exit. I was set up for a good trade: all the signals were there, it was. a green light. So I loaded it up.

Three quarters of time into the trade before my close time, majorly against me. I thought ' I can't believe thus, time to close, before I take an even bigger hit'.

At the end time, I looked to see how much worse things would gave been should I have left it. Fir the second time that day, couldn't believe what I saw. Yep, you guessed it....

So, was it poor psychology, was it not believing in my system .(however good/ bad it was), was it fear? Was it all 3?
Instead of a healthy profit, welcome to a day ticket to Looserville!

What's the forums experiences, and how do you cope.

Thanks for sharing.

You have a TIME entry and exit? You mean you enter at say 9am, and exit at 1pm or whatever time?

A combination of not believing in your method and from the way you talk about this it seems you have not made your due diligence with your method. You need alot more time under the belt with testing, if this was a method you had 100% confidence in, you would not be in a situation were you are second guessing.

Do more testing , be it on sim or paper, until you start to believe in yourself and your method, only then get back to trading it. Overwise this will become a repete scenario for you.

Best best solution when a trade goes against you, take your loss and look for the next trade...simple as that.

WIth kind regards
Bashir Naimy

I'm a reasonably experienced trader, like many on here. Doing okay, good days bad days etc.

So, the situationwas this: my method is strict time entry and exit. I was set up for a good trade: all the signals were there, it was. a green light. So I loaded it up.