Shatz/Euribor spread

Alexxxx

Hello everybody...

I have been trading the Shatz (Mar05)/Euribor (Dec05) for the past two months or so with varying degrees of success. Does anybody else trade it? Any tips or advice, please?

First of all, i dont really believe it is a spread because they move at different speeds to each other, I always find myself 'legging' which is fine, ive gotten used to it and usually try to get into the spread at half a tick better off and if it doesnt go my way then ill have to take the spread at market (painful). All in all, just like everything in trading, gotta pick out the right prices with patience and disclipline.

i would like to trade euribor/euribor but i just dont have the size yet (4 lots).

Alex

It is a good spread on the whole, I suggest only ever do Euribor leg first and get on all the volume bids/ask in Euribor. With 4 lots you will definitely have it difficult getting those pro-rata amounts. Other thing is working out which is the best spread to trade and when to roll from one schatz to the next. Do you concentrate on just one Euribor contract? or are you looking at a strip of them?

I'm near the City...

Right now just trading DEC05. Possibly a few months from now I'll trade butterflies as they call them (DEC05/MAR06/JUN06 - for example)...that should be interesting, looking to get 1/2 - 1 tick maybe twice a day.
Non-farms on friday...that should be interesting, last one was rather disappointing.
Do you trade Euribor? If you do, what do you watch? I watch the Bund, eurodollar, brent crude, short sterling and the main equities....also watch greenspan's big mouth turn a winning trade into a losing one in 10 seconds, hehe.