Is CMC really that bad?

leonarda

Established member
Hi,
I'm new to this spread betting lark, and am currently using IGIndex with a pair trading strategy (3-8 days trade period). However, IG's spreads are quite large. CMC have great spreads, 0.4% better for a pair trade, so not insignificant. I've read all the bad threads on CMC, and most seem to be issues with day trading/scalpers..? I'm interested in people's view on using them for short/meidium term trades, 3-8 days. They haven't gone out of business, so they can't be that bad...? Any members currently trading with them, I would appreciate your views?
Thanks

There are plenty of threads on this forum that suggest anyone who actually cares about their money should stay away from CMC. Search the forum and you should see that they are not a company you want handling your hard earned money.

Hi,
I'm new to this spread betting lark, and am currently using IGIndex with a pair trading strategy (3-8 days trade period). However, IG's spreads are quite large. CMC have great spreads, 0.4% better for a pair trade, so not insignificant. I've read all the bad threads on CMC, and most seem to be issues with day trading/scalpers..? I'm interested in people's view on using them for short/meidium term trades, 3-8 days. They haven't gone out of business, so they can't be that bad...? Any members currently trading with them, I would appreciate your views?
Thanks

I doubt you will have any real issues medium term trading.
It's usually the scalpers who have issues and probably because of their own shortcomings rather than the provider.

I doubt you will have any real issues medium term trading.
It's usually the scalpers who have issues and probably because of their own shortcomings rather than the provider.