I want volume (spot vs futures)

wasp

Legendary member
Hi,

I have come to the conclusion that the final missing peg in my trading is volume.

As a spot FX trader, I do not have it so my question is.........

Anyone tried spot and futures and can tell me if there are any major differences between the two? (that may hindrance my trading rather than enhance with volume)... ie liquidity, size, brokers, spreads, hours etc....

Cheers

Okay, I am guilty of not searching and just seen all the threads at the bottom! :innocent:

1. Less liquidity
2. Only a few currency pairs are actually available.

less position size flexibility since futures lot sizes are fixed and larger than what can be had in the spot market.

Also, total transactions costs could be higher given commission + spread (yes, there are spreads in the futures market, just like every other one).

Okay, looks like a dead end. Shame, volume would have been nice to have

I assume futures volume on a spot FX chart doesn't really work!

I think so because it is not the same market(interbank market).
Although i can turn on volume on MT4 this is just a volume of interbank FX,mine broker.
As it is not the whole market it is pretty useless..
Regards,
VingTsunKuen

They actually show the volume? Wow... that's new to me. I never thought of volume when it comes to FX ... just assume it was never possible at all. Would seeing the volume in ur broker bring up some useful info though? I wonder...

Well this will start a war!

Volume bars at the bottom of a chart are useless nowadays as volume bars lie. Or More importantly, are made to lie!

And are no better indicator than anything else you can think of!

They actually show the volume? Wow... that's new to me.

It is just a volume of transactions that has gone through their server(Interbank FX)
So basically it is a crap,you can not use it as valid information.