Career Advice

Daui

Hey. Hoping to gain some useful career advice from people much more experienced than myself-guys who've been round the block. Anyway I'll be brief.

I graduated from top 20 UK uni with a 2.2 in Bsc Economics (2.1 in final year)-a result of a poor work ethic up until 3rd year (a case of too litte to late).

Silver lining- accepted on to the Msc Economics course at the same uni due to a noticebale change in work ethic and good grades in the quantitative modules. I deferred the year to volunteer abroad for several months. Will start this year (2011-2012)

Love poker-dynamics of the game, making bets in expectation of certain outcomes, analyzing probability and risk, accounting for a player's previous actions, trying to find behavioural patterns, etc. Interested in Global Macro strategy or any trading strategy that basis the fundamental decisions on the application of marcoeconomic theory.

No idea where to start, what books to read or the best way to go about practice trading.

Would the masters help me break into a prop desk somewhere or is the 2.2 going to make it near impossible? Should I strongly consider following on to a phd? I've been told prop firms sometimes hire quants and its possible to make the switch into trading from there.

Any thoughts would be appreciated

i haven't "been round the block" but hopefully can give you some background...