candlesticks not that important

Christiaan

Hey guys

I watched a webinar done by one of those guys from the online trading academy and he basically said that candlesticks is not that usefull he also made a remark that if you have a doji for example and you change the timeframe,what happens to it,it vanishes.

But then a lot of things changes when you switch the timeframe does'nt it.My point that I want to make or rather the question I want to pose it does anybody make practical use
of candlesticks,because i'm planning to buy nisons' book when I have the money but I want to make sure that a intensive study is really worth a R 1000 south-african rand.

So please post your remarks and thoughts I don't nessasarily agree with this guy but hell i'm still a rookie

what do you think?

Yes people make practical use of candlesticks. Yes a candlestick on its own might not mean that much. Yes it changes depending on the time, but what matters is their meaning to the time frame you're trading in. You could say the DOW is in a massive uptrend if you start from 1930s or even before. But that doesn't mean you would want to be long in october last year. Does a doji on a 5 min chart mean a great deal if you're planning to hold long term positions? No it probably doesn't. But if you're trades last only minutes, then it might.

Check out a thread called "potential setups" (not potential setups 2, or setups-the popcorn), and you will find many people using candles like hammers/pin bars.

Hello,