Are YOU a STIR trader?

arabianights

Legendary member
How many STIR traders have we got here then?

I'll say hello first: I've been trading STIRs (prop) for about ten months now, all three LIFFE contracts. Swiss is my usual bread and butter but on a day like today there was much more money in Euribor so that's what I primarily traded... Not touching sterling that much away from news at the moment due to the absent liquidity.

Usually outrights only but I'll take some spreads sometimes when it makes good sense. Almost allways small overnights if at all... Learnt my lesson a couple of months ago that having 125 lots overnight with a five figure account balance isn't terribly wise.

Don't be shy now ;)... Say hello.

Hello. I'm trying to learn about stirs. Have had no success yet.

u trade calendar spreads in euribor? dec/march?

i have never figured out how people made money doing that when u can easily get 800 roundtrips in a day.

A good way to use bor calendar spreads is, if you have a directional view, to use front month versus second month, for example. Cuts out a bit of noise.

But in general spreads aren't as attrcative as outrights. Too dull.

Although, google image search for spreads is attractive. Odd that.

I've been trading STIRS for 4 years. Mainly Euribor spreads but the occasional Sterling for good measure.

how can humans compete with autospreader? (legging in and out of positions?) funny hearing in the office getting caught legging and fists banging on tables! ok i shouldnt laugh.

outrights all the way!

outrights all the way!
dont ask your head trader though :)

I've been trading STIRs electronically since 1999, first mainly in the Euribor (also traded Sterling and Swiss at the time) but eventually migrated into solely trading Sterling. Traded that right up until LIFFE introduced half ticks, it only took me two days trading to see how wrong LIFFE have called that one... And so found myself back in the Euribor...