why trade futures?

tommog

Hi,

I am a forex trader and have a pretty good understanding of how futures contracts work however i have never watched a futures trader at work and i am just interested to know why you chose to trade futures? I was naturally drawn to forex trading due the fact its a 24 hour market, the most liquid in the world and due to its 24 hour market there are no opening gap ups/down, but would be interested to know what are the advantages of trading futures over forex? Also, what is it like as a derivitive to trade. Forex offers direct access trading where brokers search bids/offers form 5 market makers, combined with 1pip spreads makes it a great environment for scalping, what are the futures like as a product to scalp?

No particular reason for my asking, i just am fascinated by all things trading related and want to know what im missing out on from the world of futures.

Thanks guys

Tom

tommog said:
Hi,

I am a forex trader and have a pretty good understanding of how futures contracts work however i have never watched a futures trader at work and i am just interested to know why you chose to trade futures? I was naturally drawn to forex trading due the fact its a 24 hour market, the most liquid in the world and due to its 24 hour market there are no opening gap ups/down, but would be interested to know what are the advantages of trading futures over forex? Also, what is it like as a derivitive to trade. Forex offers direct access trading where brokers search bids/offers form 5 market makers, combined with 1pip spreads makes it a great environment for scalping, what are the futures like as a product to scalp?

No particular reason for my asking, i just am fascinated by all things trading related and want to know what im missing out on from the world of futures.

Thanks guys

Tom
The following is not my work but that of a person for whom I have great respect. I hope it may assist.