Who do you recommend?

Hade

Hi there,

I'm quite new to spread betting. I signed up to Finspreads a while back and I've spent a lot of time researching trends and technical analysis stuff. I've done a few trades too.

I'm starting to wonder whether there are any better spread betting companies to go with other than Finspreads. Their interface and features are quite simple and I'm wondering whether another company can offer more advanced features and hopefully smaller spreads. Also their spread is 4 points for rolling.

I'm looking for a trailing stoploss, smaller spreads etc etc...
Thank you.

Last edited:
Forget the spread. It's how well they fill you. No point having a 1 pt spread if you never get filled.

Yep, be careful of fast moving markets where you don't get filled quickly. Lots can be made but usually lost in these situations with SB companies.
Depends on whether you make long term or short term trades though.

I have some problems being filled with IG Index in that they often re-quote you on the spread which can be annoying - they are also 2 pts wide on FTSE

Pardon my ignorance, but what do you mean by being filled?
Are you referring to the accuracy of their data?

Pardon my ignorance, but what do you mean by being filled?
Are you referring to the accuracy of their data?

"Getting filled" is the term for having your trade accepted.

What he means is that you are sitting there and the market starts moving up (or down) quite quickly so you think "oh there a good move here, I'll have some of that" and press the buy (or sell) button, e.g. when the price is 4250.

A "good fill" would be when the system comes straight back and says you are long at 4250. A "poor fill" would be when the system sits there for 5 seconds then comes back to you and says the price 4250 is no longer valid and would you like to go in at 4255 instead.