What to check when signing up with a CFD brokerage?

d.clerc

Guys,

I am new to CFD trading.I wanted to know what you experienced guys would advice a noob to check out when opening a CFD account?

Check the commission structure. If you are only going to be trading small size then the minimum commission probably means that the SB option is much cheaper. Conversely, if you are trading large size then CFD will be cheaper.

Guys,

I am new to CFD trading.I wanted to know what you experienced guys would advice a noob to check out when opening a CFD account?

check out the platform, via a demo.
check their spreads against the underlying market
check their spreads against competitors
check their spreads after hours
check the minimum lot sizes
functionality of their charts if you will be using them
their order options, targets, trailing stops etc
make sure they have all the products you might want to trade
look at positive/negative reviews
minimum account opening and charges

Money talks, so if you are not happy, feel free to shop around

I wanted to know what you experienced guys would advice a noob to check out when opening a CFD account?
Hi d.clerc,
Further to barjon's post above, this FAQ might help you to compare and contrast the two: What are the Pros and Cons of Spread Betting Vs CFDs? One thing to keep in mind before getting into too much detail is whether or not you can trade a spread betting account from your part of the world (just looking at your flag). Furthermore, even if the SB brokers are happy for you to open an account, you may fall foul of your own tax authorities. A couple of e-mails / phone calls to the respective organisations will soon sort that out.
;)
Tim.

Hi mate,