What is the most cost-effective way to SHORT USD over 2 years period?

poker_trader

Hi everyone,
I am a newbie, and not too sure what financial instrument I should use if I want to short USD over about 2 years period. appeciate any help please.
Is buying gold (lyxor bullions or ETFS Gold backed by physical gold) a good way too?
Cheers :)

i wouldn't short the dollar for that long
in about one year we'll see the dollar rise against the euro and major currencies
gold is only good when the economy is suffering
there will be rallies in about 6 months [it's better to be a month late than a month soon]
so gold is good for about 6 months to an year and after that, significant price correction but there's always money to be made

I dont know the answer to the question. However the guy did not ask for your opinion on shorting the USD he asked whats the most cost effective way. He obviously shares a similar fundemental view with me, though shorting the Eur now would be good also. I think I would short it against the AUD.

I dont know the answer to the question. However the guy did not ask for your opinion on shorting the USD he asked whats the most cost effective way. He obviously shares a similar fundemental view with me, though shorting the Eur now would be good also. I think I would short it against the AUD.
then i don't think there's an answer to the question
if we all knew the answer then everyone would be doing it :LOL::rolleyes:
calculating the risk/return ration, i'd say make a short term poisiton shorting the dollar if you can wait that long
and i agree, shorting the euro now might be very profitable in a year or so :)

Hi everyone,
I am a newbie, and not too sure what financial instrument I should use if I want to short USD over about 2 years period. appeciate any help please.
Is buying gold (lyxor bullions or ETFS Gold backed by physical gold) a good way too?