What do you do in your spare time?

bergy

Hi all,

I have just recently joined this forum and this is my first post. I am a gold trader from Australia and about to make the jump into cold water and trade full time.

The reason why I am writing this post is that I trade on the daily time frame and I could be classified as a position and/or swing trader holding trades for days to weeks. With this strategy I will have a lot of time on my hands.

My question is to those who trade full time, is what do you guys do to fill in the time between trades? I am especially looking for responses from traders with similar trading strategies, however responses from day traders are more than welcome as well.

Kind regards

Depends on your strategy, surely. If you wait for set ups at the end of 4 hour candle formations then you have 4 hour gaps to go shopping, sleep, eat, watch blockbusters, play WoW, masturbate...

if your trading off the daily charts, then you have the whole day to do whatever you like, get a hobby do some volunteer work learn carpentry go sailing whatever rocks your boat mate!!

I'm more of a longer term trader with equities and currencies. However, I like to day trade the indices like the Eurostoxx and FTSE - sometimes the S&P. I found a lot of my longer term strategies also fit the shorter time frames - so I'm not scalping; I'm taking more long-term intra-day positions.

golf, tennis, philandering, money laundering / gun running - up to you

we have all the time in the world

Depends on your strategy, surely. If you wait for set ups at the end of 4 hour candle formations then you have 4 hour gaps to go shopping, sleep, eat, watch blockbusters, play WoW, masturbate...

or get someone to play with you ! (blockbusters i mean) :)

haha... er... I meant blockbuster films not the student tv show. Then again, it IS on during the daytime so I guess you're right. :D

I trade 20 hours per week
then approx 10 hours week i do community work