using only historic price data to trade

davao_danny

Hi everyone.

I'm completely new to trading, and plan to use very simple Excel-based running charts of historic prices as indicators for buying long, selling short and closing positions for individual companies (starting with the FTSE 100, then expanding to other markets).

I intend to make trades of around £1000. Assuming a (possibly pessimistic) cost of £20 per trade, I'd need to make an average gain of more than 4% for each position to produce a profit.

1) Has anyone successfully used only historic price data to trade (ignoring all other factors such as profit forecasts and politics)?

2) Can anyone suggest how many running days of data I should use to find trends (e.g. the last 90, 180 or 360 days)?

3) I'd also like to hear people's views on whether to go with consitent trends (i.e. a reasonably linear graph) or to buy/sell based on more extreme sudden changes in prices.

4) Which online trading services are reliable, simple to use, and offer good customer-support? I will not be trading on margins.

Thaks in advance for any feedback.
Danny :)

Hi there

Just a couple of questions

1. Do you have a specific profit target in mind
2. What sort of timescale are we talking.
3. How many trades are you planning per day/week

If you are looking to make quick money then short term trend favours. If you can afford to hold the position for a higher profit then long term.

Just my humble opinion, I am sure there are others with more expertise in this area.

Hi Andy. Thanks for your input.

I've got no target, other than an average gain of at least 4%, to avoid losses.
Depending on trends, I guess most positions would be held for between a few weeks and a few months (and would imediately close any position that started to go the wrong way, rather than hoping it recovers).
Again, I can only guess that I'd be making just a few trades per week.