UK Tax & Benefits

Sanook

Hi,

I'd really appreciate some information regarding what my tax situation is, now that I trade for a living. I am using both a spreadbetting company and a forex broker, but will limit the profit made through the broker, to under the capital gains tax level.

I'm just wondering if I need to inform the inland revenue about what my plans are, and whether there are any forms I need to fill in.

I'm also not claiming any benefits.

Thank you.

but will limit the profit made through the broker, to under the capital gains tax level.

Limiting your profits doesnt make any sense to me at all so why do you feel you need to do it ?

You will need to inform the IR if you are liable for tax based on your profitability after the end of the financial year. In spite of the many arguments on this board, I still dont think that you need to declare profits you have made from SB.

Paul

Since you are in a position to control your profits to such a degree as to
'but will limit the profit made through the broker, to under the capital gains tax level.'
shouldn't that read "but am limiting....." or is this a future planned activity? The reason I ask is, if it is something you have been doing for a while, and thus a typo, then why don't you spend a little money on an accountant who can be held accountable, no pun intended, for the specific advice he/she gives you. If on the other hand it is a future planned activity, you could wait 'till next tax reporting and see what money is involved. Don't take this the wrong way, it may not be the most tactfully worded reply you get, but when you are dealing with the Inland Revenue you need professional advice, not opinion from a discussion forum