Traders' opinions needed

AclTM

Hi all,
I am a research analyst working for a big multinational bank (working on the US markets) for about a year now; UG from a good tech school. I am considering moving into proprietary trading/ market making. I am quite new in finance and only have a cursory knowledge about trading types and the product/field etc. that would be most interesting/suitable for me. I have the following questions (which might be stupid):

1. Are only the iBanks and the exchanges involved in market making (generally referred to as trading in an iBank? ) ...where else can one get employed as a market maker?...also i guess flow trading/block trading are also a part of this function...or are they separate careers?

2. how closely are the prop trading and the market making related? i mean how easy is the move from one to another? if the skill sets required are quite different, then what is the difference?

3. is it advisable to join a small pure play prop trading firm as opposed to a prop trading role at a big institution (iBank). if no, is it because the mobility into market making would be easier if i already am in an iBank?

4. if it is not very easy to move from one to the other, then can an MBA help in the transition? if yes, which of these experiences would be better for an MBA? and which of these 2 is easier to join in my case...is getting into one much more difficult than getting into another?

5. i read somewhere that people had trading roles e.g. with shell as an oil trader and such others (trading not in a trading firm/bank). what exactly are these roles? how do they compare with trading for a trading firm/bank?

6. how mobile is the career within any of these 2 roles with respect of change of product/ field....e.g. (a)changing from fixed income futures to fixed income options; and (b) changing from fixed income to equities...either market making or prop trading.