The Probabilty of a Black Swan Event

How many black swan events have you been through?

Votes: 1 50.0%

Votes: 0 0.0%

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 3 or more

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters
That's very helpful. It also says to me that day trading properly managed is not as dangerous as some would have you believe. As a balance to the intense concentration required during the trade (I'm guessing here on the concentration bit because I've no experience) it must be nice not carry any out of hours risk.

That's spot on. The degree of concentration varies greatly. Essentially if there is clear evidence of the move failing or reversing I tend to exit straightaway. If the move peters out the choices for me are to exit all or part of the position; the latter to lock in profits. It's always about the evidence in front of my eyes, not wishing or hoping for anything to happen. My personality is to minimise risk anyway so there is no point holding overnight. There is enough in life to worry about without leaving your funds open to chance, the unexpected or Black Swans.

This is very helpful. As a follow up, do you know what the cause of the large drops were? Were they flash crashes or legitimate "bad news" drops that reverted back for a short time?

This seems to point to my current stop technique of a stop quote limit order being the correct one to use when day trading as protecting against flash crashes is the very reason I use it.

One was, if I remember correctly, the Secretary of the Treasury suddenly resigning during market hours; that was a long time ago. I can't remember the others.

Bear in mind that a hard protective stop loss might not be filled in a fast market as you do need someone to take the other side of the trade and there might not be anyone or others might be ahead of you with their fills !
Some firms do offer guaranteed stop losses at a price.