The Changes of FXCM policy

etext

I have been trading with both FXCM and CMS now for over 3 years, so i am not a beginner any more. Initially I had problems with CMS, the system used to go down at any time when the market became reasonably active, etc. This doesn't seem to happen any more and it is up and running 99% of the time.

FXCM recently emailed me offering their "no dealing desk" option. The supposed advantage of a 1 pip spread on the Euro as opposed to their dealing desk spread of 3 pips pales into insignificance when they also remove their slippage policy, so I refused their offer. So far they have accepted my refusal but have stated that they reserve the right to place me on the "no dealing desk" option in the future. Fair enough - I also reserve the right to cancel my account in the future as well, which indeed I would immediately do if they enforced their new option.

Removing the "guarantee of no slippage" policy will kill any trader, slowly but surely it will bleed him white because you can guarantee that if you orders are filled they will be filled at a price which is not to your advantage.

Now they have announced that those who are on the "no dealing desk" option can also hedge their trades. This is another little ploy to try and encourage traders to swap their account to a "non guaranteed slippage account".

But there again CMS have always since I began with them 3 years ago offered hedging as a standard part of their dealing operation.

In short - to any newbie traders out there - If you are dealing with FXCM on their "no dealing desk" option without a guarantees against slippage, then my advice is - get out. And if you are thinking of opening a new account with them without a guarantee of no slippage, then my advice is - don't! They will crucify you.

I am a quiet sort of trader. I get up each morning and set in place my orders for the day and then walk away. My own system works well enough for me, and I don't post much to these boards.