Tax liability

busfarehome

Hello all,

I was hoping someone would beable to enlighten me regarding Tax.

I understand that gains from Spreadbetting are tax free as long as it is not sole/main source of income.
But what about if the only income I have is from Spreadsbetting and I have no other job or income?

Would I be liable to pay 20% tax on any spreadbetting income over the single mans allowance of £7475?

Are you at present making more than £10,000 pa from spread betting?

Did you also make more than that in every one of the last 3 years (if trading).

Hi Busfare,

I am no tax expert but according to what I've read on the HMRC website it all entirely depends on how they view the activities that you carry out and how well you can argue that what you are doing is "gambling".

On the website they gave an example of an exchange trader or market maker, (I can't remember exactly) because of the way they can operate like trading inside the spread, offsetting trades with clients to reduce their risk and things of that nature they were classed as traders not "gamblers" so were liable for tax.

I can't remember the web address but I'm sure you could find it easily enough.

As I am sure you are aware it's a sticky issue. I think the best thing to do if you are looking for a clear cut answer would be to phone or visit HRMC and tell them about your "friend" that spread bets, giving them as much detail as you are willing to give away (probably best to leave out your name of course) to get the answer you are looking for.

Read this. http://www.traderstaxclub.co.uk/public/89.cfm?sd=2 Their answer is no. But I'm sure you can find plenty of professionals who say yes.

But the simple fact is - no one knows, not even HMRC. There have been no test cases in law as yet.