Interviews Steve Palmquist Interview

Steve gives us an insight into the methods he uses for trading and what his trading day is like

How did it all start? (How did you get into trading?)
When I was in college I discovered that a savings account was a guaranteed loser after inflation for me, and a guaranteed winner for the bank. I was an electrical engineering major and was researching potential places to work when I graduated. I started following several technology companies, and watching their stock prices. I wondered what made good companies and what drove the stock prices so I began reading about investing. I found it interesting and investing became one of my life long passions.

How did you learn to trade? (Are you a self-taught trader or did another trader/mentor pass on valuable lessons to you?)
Like many traders I started out reading books and attending seminars. I found that most of the books provided a few examples of trades that worked but very little information on how often the trades worked, what type of market conditions they worked best in, or position sizing and money management. The breakthrough for me came when I started doing my own research and backtesting. I have found that the trick to trading is not to have a favourite strategy, but to have a tool box full of them and select the appropriate strategy for the current market conditions.

Which markets do you trade and how often?