Starting Out - Need Advice - Specific Not Vague

bstevenson

Hi,
I am looking to start trading. I have looked into this a few times in recent years but am always put off by the amount of poor information and shysters out there. I guess Im looking for someone to give me advice, especially on getting started and to maybe fall back on when I need help.
Any advice on quality training or trading programmes would be most appreciated.
I have spent years working in Fund Management, Investment Bankng and Financial Services so I have a reasonably good understanding of markets etc but obviously I am still a novice at trading. I have been off work with a long term illness for some time now and think trading from home could be my best option.
Most of the courses and training I see offered seem like a con or a rip off - asking for large amounts of money and most of these have been bad mouthed or discredited on this site or others like it.
A lot of 'traders' on here seem to say that you really have to just learn it yourself but there must be some decent courses and/or training out there.
I guess Im looking for the 1% of genuine information while trying to weed out the 99% of guff or cons.
Really just looking for basic start up info, what is required and what is best for a newbie.
What products/markets are best to start on? What platforms/brokers are best? What equipment do I need? What software do I need? How do I find/develop a decent trading strategy? How much money do I really need to get started?
How do I go about making a reasonable montly salary (as opposed to the promises of unlimited wealth)?
Im looking for specific answers rather than vague generalisations.
I realise that everyone out there is searching for the answers to some of these questions but any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Brad

ps apologies if this has all been covered before. Im sure some of this stuff will be in the First Steps section but as I said I really am looking for specifics