Starting Backtesting

boydd_uk

I've just read Way of the Turtle.

The one thing the book inspired me to do, which I had always thought would be too much like hard work Is to carry out some testing on historic data. I always thought this was pointless, but I take the view on board of the book that without anything else, what are you going to do??

If anyone could give me tips as a beginner it will be appreciated, specifically:

1. Data. How can I get free data to backtest commodities like Gold/Copper, etc.? Currently I use MLDownloader to download share data, but I don't think this can help with currencies/commodities where the symbol code changes each month. How do you tie up the month by month data to create a single historic data file to test?

2. I'm a newbie when it comes to metastock. Could somebody get me started with a simple backtest say on a system that already exists in metastock?

Thanks for any help!

Thats one of my favourite books that ive read. One thing i will say about back testing is come up with your trading system then test it not the other way round. You dont want to overfit a strategy to the data because you will get fantastic results in testing and then lose an arm and a leg when you go live.

Mark

OK so I downloaded forex and continuous commodity data from http://www.is99.com/disktrading/, which I googled since I didn't get an influx of answers to that question ;-).

I started looking at some test on Gold prices which go back to 1974 (with the data from above). I would of like more data, but not sure if this is available.

I tried the various "expert" systems in metastock with 100K, default 1 unit, took out any interest and found that pretty much all the trend systems performed abysimally? Is this what others have found?