Spread Betting or other avenue.

fulgore

I have been reading and learning about various trading methods for the past few months. Having played with several virtual trading platforms as part of my learning process I have had excellent results thus far. Now I want to do some real trading but as I am still learning and working out my system I will be trading small amounts. Should I go with spread betting?

You may well find that spread betting is one of the simplest ways to get started. Depending on the company you choose to open an account with, you will also find that it will enable you to trade with relatively small amounts to start off with. As an example, Deal4Free will allow you to bet £1 a point on currencies, indices and shares. That is quite good as it provides the opportunity to get comfortable and feel your way without incurring major losses in the process (very important). Paper trading and the real thing are very different as you will sonn find out. There are some companies that will even accept smaller trades, I believe that Finspreads is one of them (please note that this is not an endorsement of either company).

I was leaning towards spread. In my other life I have been a pretty good poker player so psychologically I am a lot less adverse to financial risk than many others I imagine. Are there any good threads dealing with SB methods; I have searched the forun but not really found a cogent discusson on strategy.

There are all sorts of threads and you will have plenty of reading to catch up with. Best to look for any thread relating to spreadbetting. As for strategy.... there is a raging debate going on at present called -
Is it really possible to make money in this lark? Happy reading.

Trading strategies vary greatly from person to person.

You can hold a position for seconds or for years and the system you use for getting into or out of a position can have almost infinite variations.