spread betting,CFDs or futures??-newbie

mattbird55

Hi guys, im a newbie trader just reading up on the subject. First problem seems to be what to trade and which companys to use. firstly I was gonna try spread betting (IG INDEX) but when you are betting large amounts the spread seems very wide and expensive (IT CANT BE CLASSED AS GAMBLING FOR NO REASON SURELY??).

So How about futures trading? is this possible from home on a PC?? if so what UK companies are the best to use?? I notice that my stock broker (Selftrade) trades CDFs so will look into that.

But what are your opinions guys, i know very little about this stuff and would much appriciate a nudge in the right direction.

Thanks in advance

If you're a complete newbie (which your post suggests you are) open a training / paper-trading account with one of the spreadbet companies and see how you get on. After a few weeks or months of that you'll have a much better idea of what kind of trading / markets suit you. Most of the other stuff you've asked is already on these forums or in the Knowledge Lab so suggest you learn to use the 'Search' function.

mattbird55 said:
Hi guys, im a newbie trader just reading up on the subject. First problem seems to be what to trade and which companys to use. firstly I was gonna try spread betting (IG INDEX) but when you are betting large amounts the spread seems very wide and expensive (IT CANT BE CLASSED AS GAMBLING FOR NO REASON SURELY??).

So How about futures trading? is this possible from home on a PC?? if so what UK companies are the best to use?? I notice that my stock broker (Selftrade) trades CDFs so will look into that.

But what are your opinions guys, i know very little about this stuff and would much appriciate a nudge in the right direction.

Thanks in advance

Hi Matt,

Your post indicates that you are just looking at Spreadbetting, CFD, or Futures markets.