Setting Limits

carlgreen

Hi Everyone

I need a little help.

I am working on a strategy (slowly) and have no problem setting a Stop Loss limit, I simply decide how much I am prepared to lose on any given deal, However, I am a bit stuck on to how to work out a Limit on the order?

I know everyone wants to gain as many pips as they can on each deal and lose as little as possible so I was wondering if there is a formula I should be using to set Limit/Loss levels.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Carl (y)

buy stop = pending buy above market price
sell stop = pening sell below market price

buy limit = pending buy below market price
sell limit = pending sell above market price

buy stop = pending buy above market price
sell stop = pening sell below market price

Thanks for that, but can you put this in plain English for a thicko like me :confused: and maybe with some examples?

(Sorry to be a pain but I'm pretty new to all this and not the sharpest pencil in the box!)

Carl

Hi carlgreen - This is a more fundamental issue than most people will tell you but the basic principles are -
1. always use a stop
2. make sure your stop is ouside the range of 'noise' so you don't get stopped out before your position has had time to break into profit
3. if hit, your stop should prevent you losing more than 2% of your capital on each trade
4. your profit target should be 2 or 3 times further from entry than your stop
5. never move your stop wider

You will see that these rules relate the placing of the limit to the stop, which is all very sensible, but I have a problem with the 2x or 3x multiple for setting a profit target. Some traders work out the furthest point they can place their stop, and then just apply a 3x multiple to get the profit target, with no regard to the TA of the instrument to confirm any realistic likelihood price can do so well.

So I would be prepared to relax rule 4, as long as my limits are being hit more often than my stops.