securities or Investment managemet

kagein

I'm a undergrad and want to take the sii exam's this summer so that i'll be on better footing when i apply next year for jobs in an IB.i was wondering whether i should take unit 2 securities or unit 5 Investment managment, or would it not make a difference?

Definately take the Regs, Securities and Derivatives paper. Always looks good on a cv and this is usually the bench mark for Analyst level accros the back, middle and front office. 'Generally' people who take IM paper have a few years experience (associate level) or a going directly into that field i.e pension fund/private wealth managment.

I was thinking of doing Unit 1- Regulation and Unit 4 - Securities & Financial derivatives(together)

or shall i do securities(Unit2) and derivatives(unit 3) seperately?, (along with the compulsory unit 1)

I was told to do them seperately because the Unit 4 SFD derivatives section does not cover commodity derivatives (therefore you can't work with derivatives on oil, metals, softs, etc) where as the Unit 3 Derivatives does cover them. It just makes you look more flexable to potential employers.

Definately take the Regs, Securities and Derivatives paper. Always looks good on a cv and this is usually the bench mark for Analyst level accros the back, middle and front office. 'Generally' people who take IM paper have a few years experience (associate level) or a going directly into that field i.e pension fund/private wealth managment.
I already bought the book....75 quid down the drain should have probably asked before buying it....oh well

Just do them all ha ha!! Having Unit 1,2,3 & 5 on your CV will do no harm at all and I doubt many other candidates will have shown that much initiative or dedication. It'll show potential employers that you have a good grasp of all business areas. Could be quite handy to have it under your belt now as it's a real bugger having to study and work at the same time.