Order priority

superfrank

Hello everyone,

I'm new to futures trading, so I apologise in advance if I use any incorrect terminology. I have question for more experienced people...

When placing limit orders are they placed in a queue with the priority being decided by the time those orders were placed, and nothing else? i.e. first in first out.

It feels like my order is always shuffled to the back of the queue, and that I only get filled when the price goes through it.

I asked the broker and they said it was first in first out, but it doesn't feel like it!

It depends on the exchange. Go to the exchange website and search for the "matching algorithm".

Which broker? I ask because, for example, my broker is underwritten by RSG Group, so my orders go 'the long way round' to reach the market, which results in big slippage. The broker I'm moving to has their orders go directly to the CME, and apprently the slippage is much much less. I hear this directly from a few people who moved from my current broker to the other one, so I trust their claims. The better one is Infinity Futures.

Which broker? I ask because, for example, my broker is underwritten by RSG Group, so my orders go 'the long way round' to reach the market, which results in big slippage. The broker I'm moving to has their orders go directly to the CME, and apprently the slippage is much much less. I hear this directly from a few people who moved from my current broker to the other one, so I trust their claims. The better one is Infinity Futures.

I'm using Mirus Futures with Dorman Trading. I've been impressed with everything else so far. Trading FDAX.

I'm not familiar with them. I'm happy with my current broker mostly as well, except for this problem, which causes me to miss a few trades that usually turn out that they would have been winners.

indeed doesn't even depend on exchange, but also on product.