Option pricing on FTSE 100

formguide

Hi guys, I am actually an option trader on fixed income but need some advice on equity index options. I am basically trying to price up options on the FTSE 100 using a standard pricer I have found on the internet, but does anyone know where I can find what dividend percentage to use in the pricing? And also the overnight interest rate to use? In fixed income we only really use volatility, underlying price and time to expiry to price our options up, but i think equities need the interest rate and expected dividend payout.
Cheers

Jonny

March Ftse Puts

Hiya - yes it's me the quiet man from Manchester.......

Just recently discovered the joy of index options after making almost 50% on a small put position.

I'm bearish.......... and expect a decent fall before end of Q1 (not PermaBearish just aware of the possibilities :cheesy: ). Consequently, I'm experimenting with index options to get my hand in - so to speak.

Someone told me Out of the money options are where the big money is made (or lost) so that's where I'm focusing... initially on March 6100 Puts....... currently around 86p to buy... with Ftse CASH around the 6236 zone.... The plan is to buy them when Ftse rallies hard and sell them ... when ftse falls ......... lets see :rolleyes:

I really haven't got a XXXXXX clue what I'm doing but it should be interesting to see how things work out.... a bit of a learning exercise.....

Please feel free to comment if you - as is likely - know more about options than me :p

Like reading books?

Hook Shot said:
Hiya - yes it's me the quiet man from Manchester.......

Just recently discovered the joy of index options after making almost 50% on a small put position.

I'm bearish.......... and expect a decent fall before end of Q1 (not PermaBearish just aware of the possibilities :cheesy: ). Consequently, I'm experimenting with index options to get my hand in - so to speak.