Offshore online broker for ex-pats - new legislation

diagram-p

Hi all,

I am an non-domiciled UK resident with funds in Jersey, Singapore and Australia. I am looking for an offshore broker platform that will allow me to trade ETFs on the London Stock Exchange. I have opened an internaxx account but they do not autoquote the ETFs quoted is USD so I cannot place my own stops/limit orders. In addition their fees for trades of value £50,000 are about 180 EUR. Since the new tax legislation changes proposed for April 2008 target non-dom UK residents I was considering Singapore but the fees there seem to be quite high as well and don't offer access to all of the markets.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

For cheap commissions I would look at Interactive Brokers (interactivebrokers.co.uk or interactivebrokers.com). I believe they charge 6£ flat up to a trade value of 50,000£. I have no idea how your offshore requirements are, but I would think you could have your account in the US rather than the UK.

Another option I saw is Saxo Bank (saxobank.com) out of Denmark. They charge 0.1% to 0.2% of trade value depending by market.

BTW, why would you purchase ETFs in London, don’t you pay 0.5% stamp tax there?

Please let me know how happy you are with internaxx in general.

Hi Bendlikon,

I was just on the phone with Interactive Brokers after reading through some other posts: the US account looks promising but they're customer service seems a little lacking. So far I have not been all that chuffed with internaxx since they don't offer autoquoting of the USD ETFs which means I can only place market orders. I will have a look at the Saxobank option, but IB looks like it might be the go. It's a good point about the stamp duty (one which I hadn't thought of until getting off the phone with IB). Do you still pay stamp duty on the NYSE based ETFs?