Noob Question

pedro01

Hi All

I'm a bit of a newb, have done a bit of spreadbetting after studying the Ian Williams Trading the easy way course. Personally, I think the course falls way short of giving a profitable trading strategy but I did learn a lot. Not as much as I have learnt from reading "High Probability Trading" by Marcel Link. The book cost me $26 but the Ian Williams course cost me $1000. You live & learn.

So now, I'm interested in formulating my own tradng system as well as investigating the profitability of some 'off the peg' strategies I have read about on here & in various books.

It seems to me that tradestation offers the ability to do this. Do they allow you to use the software for backtesting only ? I couldn't find a link on their site for this and when I hit 'apply for an account' I ended up with a 36 page form to fill in. At the moment, I don't want to use tradestation to trade, just to backtest. Do I really need to open a trading account to do this ?

Any ideas of the costs involved with using Tradestation as a backtesting tool ? Can it be used to backtest with different types of instrument such as CFDs & spread bets ?

If not tradestation, any ideas on what other tool can be used to backtest ?

Many thanks

Pete

duh - found it already ;-) $249 a month + a little bit for the extra data I need.

Not too bad considering they have 24 years of data to backtest with !

You will find tradestation the best entry level platform to automated trading. I 'd go through the trouble of opening an account as it will cost you a lot less than taking up on an educational package.

If you did trade through TradeStation even remotely frequently then the $249 dollar monthly fee will get waived and all you are left with are the data fees.