Newbie Advice

Scotty2Cues

Established member
Hi,

Newbie to trading but have learned some trading basics and want to give spread betting a go. Will use dummy money for couple of months then will deposit SMALL sum. Please could I have advice on the following:

1) What time scale should a newbie concentrate on and which markets/indices? Im thinking weekly or monthly as Im a newbie and Ive read not to study indices as they are too volatile for newbies.

2) Is the software that the SB company provides good enough or do I need to get some stand alone trading software

3) Which company offers the most markets etc and best spreads. Im think of registering with ETX or Captial Spreads.

4) Im gonna start with a very basic and patient strategy: identifying trading ranges, breakouts, price gaps, using SMAs

Thanks

Hi,

Newbie to trading but have learned some trading basics and want to give spread betting a go. Will use dummy money for couple of months then will deposit SMALL sum. Please could I have advice on the following:

1) What time scale should a newbie concentrate on and which markets/indices? Im thinking weekly or monthly as Im a newbie and Ive read not to study indices as they are too volatile for newbies.

2) Is the software that the SB company provides good enough or do I need to get some stand alone trading software

3) Which company offers the most markets etc and best spreads. Im think of registering with ETX or Captial Spreads.

4) Im gonna start with a very basic and patient strategy: identifying trading ranges, breakouts, price gaps, using SMAs

Thanks

1) If you are only depositing a small sum when you go live, don't learn on the weekly or monthly. Start on the daily and 4hr.

Advising what market to start with is difficult. I would suggest you look at Barclays (in FTSE 100) and EUR/GBP.

2) Search for FXPRO. It's free, real time data and is better than the SB charts.

3) Try E*Trade. (They are a white label for Capital Spreads)