Newbie - a question please.. NYSE or LSE?

GT4456

Hi there

I am new to trading and have setup an account with Degiro. At the moment I will be dealing in very small amounts maybe 5 shares in a US based company with a total value of about £300. I will be holding on to them for a while. I am based in the UK.

My question is -
  • When I search the stock it shows as listed on LSE and NYSE. It is a US based company and I am in the UK. Does it matter which I choose?
Thanks in advance

Hi there, GT4456 and welcome to t2w :)

Answer;:( Yes, it does matter which, as since you are based in the UK, if you choose the NYSE shares, you will pay with-holding tax on any dividends paid and sale proceeds when you dispose of them. Uncle Sam always gets a cut.
Also, unless you have a dollar account, you will be paying for currency conversion both ways ,,,

So, for such modest investments, you'd be much better off with the UK shares.

Hope that helps inform you and have fun trading.

😷

Hi there, GT4456 and welcome to t2w :)

Answer;:( Yes, it does matter which, as since you are based in the UK, if you choose the NYSE shares, you will pay with-holding tax on any dividends paid and sale proceeds when you dispose of them. Uncle Sam always gets a cut.
Also, unless you have a dollar account, you will be paying for currency conversion both ways ,,,

So, for such modest investments, you'd be much better off with the UK shares.

Hope that helps inform you and have fun trading.

😷

Thank you so much for your help :) I have searched the internet everywhere for the answer.

Incidentally if I may, my brother is using Plus500 and when looking for the same company and share he is only given the option for the NYSE.

Sorry if it's a silly question but is it the same stock just listed on both platforms? They are both listed in USD anyway regardless of being on the LSE so I willhave a currency exchange fee either way.

Thanks again for your help, much appreciated :)

You're welcome.