Midnight Commander (linux)

charliechan

Experienced member
hi folks,

i had a hard disk die on me a while back and im trying to recover some data on the drive.

to do this, im using this freeware......

http://www.sysresccd.org/index.en.php

basically, the end result is a cd, and linux and various tools run off the cd rather than the hard drive (which dont work anyhow!!)

the cd also contains quite a few tools that can help me do this. one of this is called midnight commander. it seems to be the simplest as im no techie.

from what i can see, it is simply a command line that allows you to do simple unix like commands to find, move copy etc files.

here is my question:

the command line starts in the cd rom directory. what are the unix (linux) commands to move from the cd rom, to the hard drive (device??), find my files, and copy them to a floppy drive?

thanks for any help.

Was your PC running Linux or Windows?

Midnight Commander is a Linux file manager dating from way back.

If you were running Linux then I would think that you may have to mount the Hard Disk using the mount command. (Assuming the CD is a Linux live CD)

If you were running Windows then SuperWinPE is the CD you need.

HTH

JonnyT

the pc was running windows xp

so im trying to get the linux os on the cdrom/memory to see the xp hard drive files.

am i barking up the wrong tree with this tool?

cheers.

Yes you are.

Linux uses different file systems to XP's Fat32 and NTFS and is somewhat dodgy when accessing XP file systems.

What you need is a WinPE disk which effectively boots a mini version of XP from CD and may allow you to access the hard disk.

I have a CD called Super Win PE which also has accessories that could allow you to recover data, or repair the hard disk etc. It is available via emule etc ;o)

JonnyT

Linux can read NTFS filesystems reliably. I'm not familiar with the particular recovery CD you have, but you will need a sequence of commands something like this: