Market Making for Fonds and ETFS (Germany)

Denniz

Hello,

first I hope that is the right place to ask such a question. I got an offer from a small firm that is doing Market Making in Germany.

They are doing the most part of it manually but want to automate some parts. I think they want automate small trades - if a small trade is hit - so that the system automatically hedge it if the order is small. Also, the want to improve the models they use (right now the most part is done by regression).

I find it very interesting. But on the other hand, I never did something like that. My background is quant (more back-office / portfolio optimization on weekly basis) and now working at an insurance in a boring job.

So I'm not sure about two things. First the working hours:
i. There is stated in the contract that over hours are not paid (In my company now they are) and also that the working hours depend on the exchanges...

ii. I saw the earnings of the company in 2015 and they were negative - that doesn't mean anything but is market making a job with a perspective? (Maybe sound a bit stupid but I think If not MM I would jump on the machine learning train)

I'm grateful for any advice!!!

PS: I know the question is a bit strange. But maybe someone can just tell what he thinks about market making - that would help. Its a big decision for me, since I have to move to another city and I'm a bit struggling with taking that decision.

Last edited:
So I'm not sure about two things. First the working hours:
i. There is stated in the contract that over hours are not paid (In my company now they are) and also that the working hours depend on the exchanges...