Latency, leased lines and Sweden

alpha_monkey

Hi there,

Could anyone kindly help me on the following?

Theoretically speaking: I'm a professional, arcade style scalper who wants to trade out of Sweden. Speed of execution is paramount. IT expenses are, relatively speaking, not too much of an issue.

Is there an optimal way to reduce my latency to the exchange?
Would a leased line to the exchange be required?
What sort of latency would one expect from Stockholm to London in ms?

Any advice gratefully recevied.

Cheers,
AM

alpha_monkey said:
Hi there,

Could anyone kindly help me on the following?

Theoretically speaking: I'm a professional, arcade style scalper who wants to trade out of Sweden. Speed of execution is paramount. IT expenses are, relatively speaking, not too much of an issue.

Is there an optimal way to reduce my latency to the exchange?
Would a leased line to the exchange be required?
What sort of latency would one expect from Stockholm to London in ms?

Any advice gratefully recevied.

Cheers,
AM

Any takers?

To connect to the exchange gateway directly you will probably need a point to point connection.

An international connection of this sort will be seriously expensive + exchange connection costs on top.
If you are not generating more than £100K per month then I doubt it would be worth it.

Why not just route through a good bank or broker?

if you are doing arcade style trading your latency will comprise of two stages:

1. From your system -> your clearers exchange gateway. If you are trading from an arcade office in Sweden you will be on the LAN and this will probably be <1ms assuming the gateway is on the LAN.

If your system is remote from the gateway then order transit will be affected by the route - if this is being done via VPN then your constraints will be bandwidth, number of hops, distance etc.