IQFeeds... what else?

upacs

Hello All

I'm looking for a source of historical tick data on US and European Equities and Indices. So far the only real source I have found is IQFeeds, but it has several shortcomings

1. The $60 per month price is reasonable for my needs. This will give me access to their historical database, as well as realtime (or delayed) access to the markets, which I don't need right now, but will need in due course. This is great so far.

2. However, they don't cover EU equities, only indices/futures, which isn't really that great

3. They also want $300 per year for "developer access", which I find a little excessive. As I plan to write my own software to interface with their service, it seems I would need this

I have looked into NxCore, but it's really overkill. As I'm just starting out, what I really need at this stage is about 6 months of tick-by-tick data, for US and EU indices and stocks, and eventually I'll need realtime tick data (or delayed, I'll get realtime from the broker when I get to that stage)

I also considered opening an account with Interactive Brokers, as they seem to have historical data. However, I read reports here that their historical data service is very patchy and troublesome, so I gave up on the idea. I can pay $60 per month if it's going to save me time and headaches

Any other sources I should be considering besides IQFeed? tick-by-tick data is what I'm after, but I would consider 1min data if that's what is available.

Thanks for your help guys! (and gals) :cool:

As I continue my research, I may as well update here. I have found that Ninjatrader now has a service called Kinetic. As far as I can tell, they seem to be reselling the IQFeed service. However it is $50 per month, and I could use it directly from within Ninjatrader.

I suspect the data has the same limitations as IQFeed, but nonetheless, this is looking like the best option so far to get me started, at least until I need access to an API