Introducting myself

tbill

Hello,

My name is Bill. I joined this board some months ago but I have been lurking. I started trading in the old MidAm exchange that was in the CBOT (Now, the lobby of the new trading floor) in 1990. In 1993 I started trading 30, 10 and 5 year futures of Globex and migrated to Project A when that was opened. When the stupid, old men at the CBOT closed down Project A (Sept. 2000) for the Anderson Consulting (may they burn in hell) recommended disaster aka Eurex partnership, I moved to LIFFE's euribor contract.. I am still here despite going through 3 clearing firms trying to find the best service and lowest fees.

I was very excited to find this board and I want to share my experiencings and learn from you about trading Euribor and other STIR contracts. This past fall has been a tough trade. If you are spreading between months, it is difficult to trade when the spreads are moving like outrights. :eek:

There are a few issues that I hope to discuss with like minded individuals. 1) I would like to encourage the exchanges to fix their fees so that traders will not have to include the cost of trading into their calculation of whether to make a trade. More on that later. 2) I would like to see electronic traders form a united front when dealing with exchanges, clearing firms, tech vendors so that we have a better flow of info and can collectively negotiate. (This site goes a long way towards this goal. Many thanks to the people who created and run this) 3) As a part of our collective (I am sounding vaguely Marxist) power, we should not be afraid to make demands of the people who serve us as traders. Afterall, we are CUSTOMERS. We should demand to be treated as such.