Interest Rate price - yield question

Trader J

Hi,

My name is John (Trader J). I am an Investor and Commodities Trader and do not have any formal back ground in Economics. Is there perhaps someone with more knowledge that can explain the following to me:
attached is a T-Notes 10 year chart with continuous back adjusted Monthly data since 1985.
My question is about the relationship between the interest rates and yield curve. When seeing this chart, how do I interpret this relationship?
The way I understood it is that there is an inverse relationship between the two: if the bond price goes up, interest rate goes down. But in this case, as the chart shows, it only has gone up?
In other words, if one knows that there is a higher probability that price will go up and therefore interest rates over time will go down, why get a fixed rate mortgage?

Your help in understanding this is appreciated.

Trader J

Attachments

• T-Notes 10 yr.pdf
    26.4 KB · Views: 606
First, a little correction. "Yield curve" is a term used to describe the comparisson of yields among the different maturities. As such it is not the term you should be using here.

That aside, your understanding is correct that higher note/bond prices mean lower yields. It's basic math. If your periodic interest payment is $100, then your yield will be higher if the prices is $800 (100/800=12.5% yield) than it's $1000 (100/1000 = 10% yield).

As for Note prices always going up and thus yields down, While that certainly has been the overall trend as depicted by the chart A) you can see periods where that has reversed or at worst gone nowhere for long periods, and B) You're chart doesn't include the period from the 1950s to the early 1980s, which would show a quite different story.

First problem is that you're looking at a time series of futures prices. It's somewhat more complicated to extract a consistent yield out of futures prices.