How to deal with volatile markets?

Josephwyr

Hi guys, im new to trading.
currently trading futures on a simulator in the US ten year Tnote.
This market is selected by the prop firm that im training under.

While trying to scalp the market, getting small 1 ticks from the ranging market, I will run into situations when theres a clash between the bear and the bull, and momentum can go both ways, 1 ticks, 2 ticks, pretty fast.
Thinking that there is momentum and there will be a break going up, if im short, i will sell/buy to market and get long. and vice versa if im long initiaally.

But it doesnt happen like i thought, got killed a few times and lost all my small ticks grab from scalping this way.

What kind of strategy/thoughts should I have in these kind of situation??

67imf5.jpg

have attached screenshot of how the situation was like , at 14:45 and 16:35+++, those timings are where my situation refers to.

Hi Josephwyr,

Does your prop firm allow you to trade other Treasury contracts in addition to the 10-year? If so, you should consider trading the spread between the 5-year note and the 10-year note , or between the 10-year and the long bond.

For example, you can go long 3 contracts of the 5-year note, for every 2 contracts you are short in the 10-year. That way you would be simultaneously scalping the 5-year and the 10-year but in opposite directions. The advantage of this approach is that it hedges out much of your directional risk if the market breaks out of its trading range, because the 5-year and the 10-year are highly correlated.

Jason

Hi Joseph,
Welcome to T2W.

Given that you say you're being trained by a prop firm - what's their answer to your question?
Tim.

Hi Joseph,