How do I pick stocks to trade?

Gaterz

I'm new to trading. Been paper trading for just over 2 months with various "indicators/systems" trying to find what works for MY trading style. Not sure what my style is but I know what makes me feel comfortable and what doesn't.

My dilemma is figuring out what stocks to trade. Do I run scans everyday of stocks that fit my indicators for that day and continue to add them to my watchlist? I think that my list would continue to grow and become unmanageable. Ideally I'd like a list of about 50-75 stocks that I'd check everyday for my particular setups. I'd only end up trading from that list. Over time, I'd add and remove from that list but I'd have a core list of stocks to choose from. But where /how do I make that list? Do I start with a daily scan for my setups and that becomes my list? Do I randomly pick ones that I like from real life?

How do/did you guys come up with your master list? Any help or insight into this is greatly appreciated.

How do/did you guys come up with your master list? Any help or insight into this is greatly appreciated.
Hi Gaterz,
Welcome to T2W.

I don't trade stocks currently, but I used to day trade U.S. stocks, so I can tell you what I did at the time. The first thing to do is to define the ideal stock that is best suited to your methodology. This will vary from trader to trader. Once you have a clear idea of exactly what it is you're looking for - then finding it will be a whole lot easier. If you don't know what you're looking for - then you'll forever be going round in circles hoping, in vain, that 'the one' will magically jump out at you. Needless to say, it won't!