How do I become a Fund Manager, Broker etc.. ?

*JDR*

I need some career advice please.
I am trying to make a career change into the “financial services” industry. My preference would be in a role that would end up as a fund/portfolio manager.
Firstly let me point out that I am under no illusions that this might be impossible for me… I am 33.
My degree is a Bachelors of Business with a major in Finance (all that stuff about asset valuations and all the usual theoretical topics). However after my degree I got waylaid by the IT industry and they kept paying me enough money to just keep me interested.
Unfortunately, I’ve now realised that the money is (almost) pointless and I am more interested in doing a job that I enjoy and find challenging and interesting.
So here is where you can help.
Can anyone advise any sort of route into the industry that may be available to one such as me?

Options I am considering are financial adviser, stockbroker and my preferred option working for a fund manager.....

Thanks

You might have a chance entering as an analyst at associate level, which will get you on the ladder. You'd need to be thick skinned at 33, because you'll get knocked back a lot because you don't have prior experience and if you land a place, you'll have to accept being treated like all the spotty 25 year-olds doing the same thing as you, but taking a more direct route, eg entry as ACAs. Your chances of entering immediately in a direct fund management role are zero because however much you can argue your track record trading privately, the job is about a lot more than just managing money: can you sell/present to clients, handle tricky company management meetings, etc.

Your best bet is to go to one of the big careers sites like efinancialcareers, look up the jobs you think you'd be able to do (ie buy-side associate equity analyst) check out the agencies that handle the selection (you'll notice the same three of four names keep coming up) and call them for a chat.