Help me understand options

andy9775

So I have read a little bit about options and I just want to confirm that I understand this correctly. I have always been interested but I never really gave it a serious look. Also I am a total newb to options, traded fx and stocks with a bit of futures so be kind.
Lets use MSFT as an example using the thinkorswim platform,
Last stock price is 28.60 and it closed on the 18th at 28.40

Lets say I think that it will go down, I buy 10 puts strike @28 expire jun '10 at 0.67 for a total of $694 with commissions. Lets assume that the stock drops to $24 prior to expiry and I decide to exercise thus my profit should be,
10 contracts @ 28 sold for 28 000 current market price of 24 000.
Total profit being 4 000-694=$3 306

Am I correct to assume this?
Is there anything else I am missing?
I read that options trading can be risky but I assume that applies to selling of options?
Also once the option comes close to expiry is there an affect on my profits (when exercising the option or is time decay not a factory when exercising) or does that only come in when trying to buy/sell (when buying closer to expiry the price is higher/lower for the option)?
Also what if there is no volume at $24 will my order get processed?
Finally who takes the loss of my trade and how much do they lose?
Thanks

Last edited:
Lets say I think that it will go down, I buy 10 puts strike @28 expire jun '10 at 0.67 for a total of $694 with commissions. Lets assume that the stock drops to $24 prior to expiry and I decide to exercise thus my profit should be,
10 contracts @ 28 sold for 28 000 current market price of 24 000.
Total profit being 4 000-694=$3 306

Firstly, it will almost always behoove you to sell your options rather than excercise them because there will, at a minimum, be time value remaining which you will not get back if you exercise.

I read that options trading can be risky but I assume that applies to selling of options?