Help Me Out

iaincmm

Hi all,

I'm just starting out so would appreciate some advice or pointers to relevent information. I would like a software tool (and access to data) to help back test the strategy I am developing and hopefully take it forward into a real account. As I am still learning I am going to limit the markets I look at to ftse100 stocks, a selection of indices and maybe a couple of commodities. I am looking to use various technical analysis indicators to do this. I plan to trade of the 1-30 day timeframe.

Thus:

1. Is Metastock a suitable tool?
2. Any opinions on the MetaStock End of Day offering?
3. Do Metastock provide the data I need as part of the deal or do I need get that from somewhere else?
4. If I need external data who provides such a service?
5. Any other more suitable tools out there?

Thanks,
Iain

Hi all,

I'm just starting out so would appreciate some advice or pointers to relevent information. I would like a software tool (and access to data) to help back test the strategy I am developing and hopefully take it forward into a real account. As I am still learning I am going to limit the markets I look at to ftse100 stocks, a selection of indices and maybe a couple of commodities. I am looking to use various technical analysis indicators to do this. I plan to trade of the 1-30 day timeframe.

Thus:

3. Do Metastock provide the data I need as part of the deal or do I need get that from somewhere else?

Thanks,
Iain

Hi Iain,

There are LOADS of useful information on this site that will help to answer your questions one by one.

However, as an initial starter:

Why have you chosen MS? There are many software packages out there ranging from expensive ones to "Free" ones. These include (in order of cost):

TradeStation
Metastock
BullCharts
Amibroker
ProRealtime (Free!!!)
Plus others... but the list above is a good starter IMO