Hedging Strategy

Hamed A

I am new to trading but I have read that hedging is a good way to make money. Do you know of any Hedging ea's I can use? What is your idea about hedging?

I am new to trading but I have read that hedging is a good way to make money. Do you know of any Hedging ea's I can use? What is your idea about hedging?
Hi Hamed,
Welcome to T2W.

I'm sorry to say you're barking up the wrong tree. If trading was merely a case of plugging in an EA and watching the money role in, then we'd all be muli-squillionaires! It just doesn't work like that I'm afraid.

There may be traders who utilise a hedging strategy to make money - but I don't know of any. Where hedging can be very effective is in protecting profits to help ensure you don't lose money. The emphasis is very different as it requires the trader to have a methodology in place to begin with that generates profits.

By way of example, suppose you're an equities trader and you have long positions (i.e. betting the value of shares will rise) in half a dozen different U.K. companies. In line with the buoyant stock market, they are all doing well. However, you fear that Labour will win the general election and there will be a strong market reaction and you could see a significant percentage of your profits eroded very quickly. On the other hand, if the Conservatives win by an outright majority, you feel the markets will continue to rise - so you don't want to sell your holdings. To protect your current positions, you open a short position on the FTSE100, i.e. betting that the index as a whole will fall in value. If Labour are elected and the markets fall overnight, your short index trade will offset any fall in your long equities trades. In effect, you're neutral, neither making or losing money regardless of whether the market rises or falls.